THE KHS Former Pupils annual golf tournament was recently held at the Monmouthshire Golf Club. The event was rearranged from the previous Sunday and the weather conditions were much improved, with the sun shining on 22 golfers who took part in breezy conditions.

The club once again provided a warm welcome and the course was in excellent condition. It was positive to see some new entrants and the return of familiar faces. The standard of golf played was good from most, with the prizes keenly contested.

Vernon Heritage returned to winning ways with a solid performance, scoring 31 points to claim the R.J. Lewis Tankard which he last won in 2017.

Pat Pearson narrowly won the Gwenlan Trophy, holding off a strong field with a score of 33 points. Neil Skelton won the Vaughan Tankard with 30 points and hit a huge longest drive on the 18th hole.

The H.W Newcombe Pairs Trophy was won by Sam White and Andrew Davies with an unbeatable 40 points.

The Powella Cup was retained by Steve Lesbirel with an impressive 35 points, the highest individual score overall.

Steve also claimed a closest to the pin on the 12th hole and the Peter Williams Trophy for golfer of the day.

Rod Jones had an uncharacteristic dip in form to claim the best endeavour prize, which was kindly sponsored by Amy Green.

For the evening dinner the golfers were joined by three Former Pupil Committee members, whose support for the event is appreciated.

David Evans again kept everyone entertained for the evening.

John Davies awarded the prizes and the committee selected the winner of the best joke, which was won by Steve Hudd for the second year running.

The golf event is held annually and all KHS former pupils are welcome to attend, for more information please contact Jonathan Davies at [email protected].

The prizes were as follows:

Vaughan Tankard - 0 - 9 Handicap: Neil Skelton (30 pts)

Gwenlan Trophy - 10 -17 Handicap: Pat Pearson (33 pts)

Powella Cup - 18 - 23 Handicap: Steve Lesbirel (35 pts)

R.J. Lewis Tankard - 24 - 28 Handicap: Vernon Heritage (31 pts)

H.W Newcombe Trophy - Best Pairs: Sam White and Andrew Davies (40 pts)

Peter Williams Trophy - Golfer of the day: Steve Lesbirel

Best Endeavour: Rod Jones

Longest Drive 18th: Neil Skelton

Closest to pin 2nd: Andrew Davies

Closest to pin 5th: Robert Frost

Closest to pin 10th: Des Hughes

Closest to pin 12th: Steve Lesbirel

Closest to pin 14th: Anthony Chaloner

Closest to pin 16th: Jonathan Davies

Birdie 2’s – Geoff Morris (5th), Andrew Davies (14th), Huw Bowden (16th)

Best Joke: Steve Hudd