NEIGHBOURING councils have joined forces to try and combat problems causing a stink in the area.

Under the leadership of Llantilio Pertholey Community Council, the neighbouring Councils of Crucorney, Llanfoist Fawr and Abergavenny have all joined forces to try to combat the offence and nuisance caused by dog-fouling on public streets and pathways.

The councils have already bought a number of special dog bins to be emptied regularly and monitored for effectiveness. The bins might also be moved, or in some cases, additional ones may be installed.

Llantilio Pertholey Chairman councillor David Spencer said, "As local councillors we are all aware of the feelings of residents in regard to dog-fouling – it is, in fact, one of the most persistently voiced complaints which we receive. I am delighted that it has been possible for my fellow-Community Councils, and the Town Council, to provide this amenity."

At its recent meeting, Llantilio Pertholey Community Council received representations from Town and County Councillor James George regarding the extent of litter in local streets.

He is currently supporting efforts to strengthen litter-picking services. While being generally sympathetic to councillor George's objectives, Llantilio Pertholey decided that in the current climate of financial stringency they were unable to put money into the present scheme, though the matter would be reviewed at a later date.

A spokesperson said, "There is a widespread awareness of the impact of litter around the town and its surrounding districts, which has a negative impact on both residents and visitors.

"This is especially important since tourism is a major local industry, and as more and more people will be visiting during the Spring and Summer, first impressions and visual impact will be very significant."

The council also observed a short silence in memory of the former Community Councillor for Bryn-y-gwenin, Mickey Hext, who passed away earlier this month.

He was remembered as a good friend and colleague, and as a hard-working councillor dedicated to his ward.

•Llantilio Pertholey Chairman, Councillor David Spencer, with the Mayor of Abergavenny, Councillor John Prosser; with Llantilio Pertholey Councillors Phil Jones, Norma Watkins, Malcolm Skinner and Barbara Symons