Candidates announced for Powys county council elections

Thursday 7th April 2022 1:00 pm
[email protected]
Powys County Council headquarters (Pic from Powys County Council/Facebook )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

A total of 180 candidates have been put forward for next month’s county council elections, Powys County Council has said.

Powys residents will go to the polls on Thursday 5 May to vote for the people they wish to represent them on the county council and their local town and community councils.

Local government elections are held every five years and provide people with an opportunity to influence who controls the council and the direction of council policies and spending.

Following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales there are 60 electoral wards in Powys and the number of councillors that will be elected to Powys County Council will be 68 - 52 wards will have one councillor representing them, whilst eight wards will elect two councillors each.

There will be county council elections in 53 or the 60 electoral wards with seven wards uncontested. The uncontested wards are:

  • Glantwymyn
  • Hay
  • Llandinam with Dolfor
  • Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant / Llansilin
  • Llansantffriad
  • Newtown East
  • Welshpool Llanerchyddol

Anyone aged 16 and over can vote in these elections, provided they are eligible and have registered to vote by midnight on April 14. You can register online at

People can choose to vote in a number of ways - in person, by post or by appointing someone they trust to vote in their place, known as a proxy vote.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on 19 April, and for a proxy vote the deadline is 5pm on 26 April.

The full list of candidates can be viewed at View full notice.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0